24 exceptional First Tee alumni selected for First Tee College Scholarship Program

 Members of the First Tee College Scholarship Program receive financial support, mentorship and professional development opportunities. 

 Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. – (June 4, 2024) – First Tee is thrilled to welcome 24 new members to the First Tee College Scholarship Program. Entering its fifth year, the program recently celebrated its first graduating class, and now boasts 94 current or former members. Like those who have come before them, each of the new First Tee Scholars has shown dedication to school, extracurriculars, volunteerism and especially First Tee, averaging 9.5 years of involvement with the youth development organization. 

The 14 young women and 10 young men who comprise the 2024 Scholar class were selected from a pool of 150 applicants. They boast an average GPA of 4.0 and SAT score of 1350. Ten members of the new class are participants in the Ace Program, First Tee’s capstone experience. Four plan to play collegiate golf, including First Tee – West Virginia’s Argyle Downes, who will play Division I golf at Rutgers. 

Members of the First Tee College Scholarship program not only receive financial support, but they are also matched with an adult mentor and provided annual professional development opportunities. 

“Spring is an exciting time of the year when we welcome a new group of First Tee Scholars,” said First Tee CEO Greg McLaughlin. “The scholarship program has grown significantly since it launched in 2020 thanks to our generous donors and sponsors. We look forward to supporting our Scholars on their path to success.” 

Ten First Tee Scholars graduated from college this spring. Several plan to attend graduate or medical school, while others are starting careers with companies like AWS, BNP Paribas Bank, PwC, Proctor & Gamble and the NFL. 

Participants across First Tee’s network submitted applications to be a part of the latest Scholar class. Following an online application process, finalists were selected by a committee 

for one-on-one interviews. In addition to academic performance, applicants were considered based on financial need, chapter involvement, community service and other criteria. 

Congratulations to the 2024 First Tee Scholars: 

Mahek Acharya Greater ChicagoIndiana University
Maia Alinskas DelawareUniversity of Delaware
Aditi Balakrishna Tri-ValleyUniversity of Illinois
Sarah Brannigan Metropolitan New YorkGeorgetown University
Nicholas Crawford* Roanoke ValleyEmory and Henry College 
Erika Dierke MinnesotaUniversity of Mississippi
Argyle Downes*West VirginiaRutgers University
Tyler Joplin Greater DallasBoston College
William Liu Greater SeattleStanford University
Emmy Martinez Greater DallasBentley University
Henry Mentzel Greater Cincinnati & Northern KentuckyUniversity of Kentucky
Gabriella Mercado Orange CountyUniversity of San Diego
Faith Ndichu Raritan ValleyLehigh University
Joseph Neddo North FloridaUniversity of Central Florida
David Nguyen Central IowaGrinnel College
Kylie Nguyen* Greater SeattleChapman University
Selam Olson ConnecticutTrinity College (CT)
Shae Patel Metropolitan Oklahoma CityUniversity of Oklahoma
Jaylyn Remolona San FranciscoSeattle University
Isabella Rubio Florida Gold CoastUniversity of Florida
Kailey Shapiro Northern NevadaTulane University
Leah Torres* Greater HoustonUniversity of St. Thomas,  Houston
Dimitri Vasilacopulos UtahSouthern Utah University
Nathan Vertes Florida Gold CoastUniversity of Florida

*Denotes collegiate golfer